Bye Bye 2013: A Wrap of Last Year’s Failed Resolutions, This Year’s Soon-To-Be Failed Resolution, and a Review of My Boyfriend Who Happens to Be A Kindle

At the end of 2012, I started this blog. I made a post about organizing my book shelves, making a commitment to reading, and I announced my ‘Goodreads challenge’ for the year, which was substantially bigger than year’s previous. Usually I read about 45-60 books a year, and in 2012 I wanted to read 70. It wasn’t completely crazy; back when I was younger I’m sure I read about 100 books a year, but books were lighter then, I was less addicted to the internet, and I just had more passion for it. I guess a lot of that goal had to do with the fact that I really wanted to get that passion for reading back. That’s why although I failed pretty badly at the Goodreads challenge in 2013, and I didn’t update this blog very much, I don’t feel disappointed in myself. (Well, not too much.)

I read 49 books in 2013. Towards Autumn, I changed my goal from 70 books to my standard 50 books, because I was in a great big slump, and I didn’t want my non-achievable goal to drive me away from reading any further. I started reading a bit more towards the end of the year, but it was such a weird time in my life, filled with a lot of business and exhaustion, so I ended up a book short of 50. And that’s okay. I read a lot of good books in 2013. I read Fun Home by Alison Bechdel, and The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Euginides, Persepolis, The Casual Vacancy, and, probably the best book I read in 2013: Cat Daddy by Jackson Galaxy. Seriously.

I read a lot of great stuff, and most importantly, I overcame a reading slump and started 2014 with a new lease on reading! And a Kindle. Mostly I have the Kindle to thank. I got a mine for Christmas from my awesome mother, who is also a Kindle devotee. On one hand, I feel bad, because I think Amazon does a lot of harm to the book community of the world, and also I think the Goodreads app on the Kindle is pretty useless and I still resent Amazon for taking over my favorite book website; on the other had, I fucking love my Kindle. I’ve read three books so far on it: Fifty Shades of Grey, an embarrassing self-help book about finding love, and Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris, which I loved. (Expect a review soon.) I love the great range of books I can read with a Kindle, without leaving the house or even buying an ebook (something I still feel is not quite worth the money)–most libraries have e-books now, which is the main factor that made me decide it was time to get an ereader. I also love that I can read articles more comfortably than on my computer screen. I use the app Instapaper, which is great. I can save an article at any time and it’ll download on the app so I can read it later. So not only am I reading more books, I’m reading more articles, so it’s awesome! (My new favorite thing is to read a think piece or two before bed. Shh.)

I have some resolutions for this blog in 2014. I set my Goodreads challenge number this year to 70 books, again, and I think I can do it. Mostly I just want to be reviewing the books I read more often. I think I should be reviewing each book I read, either on Goodreads or on this blog. I’d like to write longer, more thought out reviews on this blog, whereas books I only have a few thoughts about (such as the frustrating Fifty Shades of Grey), I can review on Goodreads. Even now as I type this resolution out, I am behind on this, but here’s to overwhelmingly hard to achieve goals.

As always, you can follow me on tumblr and goodreads. See you there!

Leave a Reply

