The Saltwater Book Review Summer Reading Challenge

I was thinking the other day about how I have an increase in desire to read during the summer months. I think this is for two reasons: it’s something that’s nice to do in either air conditioned spaces or outside, and there is the nostalgic factor–do any of you remember the summer reading lists we used to get in school? Good times! (for nerds.)

I decided to create a challenge for myself, and anyone else who wants to join, to get me to read with more variety this summer. You’re welcome to read books from the same categories as me, or make your own categories or amount of books as you would like. The point of this is to have fun reading.

I’m giving myself from June to mid-September to finish this challenge, just so I don’t feel so rushed.

THE SALTWATER BOOK REVIEW SUMMER READING CHALLENGE

assignment 1: Read 4 Classics Written by Women

For this category, I am planning to read To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Beloved by Toni Morrison, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith, and one wildcard pick that I will choose when the time comes.

assignment 2: Read (or finish) 2 Young Adult Series

I plan to finish the Legend series by Marie Lu, plus one more series. I would really like suggestions for this, as I’m having trouble thinking of another series to read, so please recommend me one in the comments!

assignment 3: Read 1 big short story collection

This is mostly because I have a lot of these that take up space on my bookshelf, and I never seem to want to make time to read them. Right now I am deciding between The Complete Stories by Flannery O’Conner or Collected Stories by Tennessee Williams.

assignment 4: Read/Watch 1 book-to-movie adaptation

I’m not sure about this one– maybe Silver Linings Playbook? Ideally this would be both a book I’ve never read and a movie I’ve never seen. I may change my mind on this one.

Extra Credit: Read 5 books that have been sitting around on my shelf for forever, unread. (This is just because I really need to do something about my overcrowded book shelf.)

All together this is 11-16 books, which is doable in 3.5 months at the current pace I’m reading, allowing for the fact that I will want to read other books, too. If you’d like to participate in this challenge, feel free to skip categories or reduce the amount of books as needed. Or, if you’d like to make your own assignments, PLEASE DO, and please let me know about them!

And follow me on Goodreads! I am making a bookshelf for this challenge called SWBR-summer-2015, so you can track my progress. You can also talk to me on there if you’re doing the challenge as well.

Happy reading, and don’t forget to wear sunscreen. Seriously.

4 thoughts on “The Saltwater Book Review Summer Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

