September/October 2015 Round-Up

Like I said in my last post on writing, I will be taking a hiatus in November for NaNoWriMo. Before I go I wanted to do a quick round up of what I’ve been reading.


Besides my adventures in audiobooks, September wasn’t very exciting for me reading-wise, and then two of the books I was reading bled into October. I listened to Aziz Ansari’s Modern Romance and Matthew Quick’s Silver Linings Playbook on audio in September; I talk about both of them in my post about audiobooks and Scribd.

I read Cat’s Eye by Margaret Atwood in September and I loved it, but it still took me longer to finish than I thought it would. I am losing some steam with my Margaret Atwood project. I am going to have to extend this into 2016–I have her newest release on deck and plan to read it in November, but other than that I am okay taking an Atwood break. These novels demand to be savored. It’s probably better to give myself time and enjoy them fully.

The last book I finished in September was Lauren Oliver’s Requiem, the third and final installment of the Delirium trilogy. It was okay. I didn’t mind it. It made me decide to not force myself to slough through another YA series for a while. I think there is a theme in September’s reading–I seem to be forcing myself through books that I find okay but don’t love, or, in the case of Margaret Atwood, forcing myself through books that I like but I’m not always in the mood for.

I think I am going to have a new resolution that I should only be reading things in my free time that I really, really want to read.

I started two books in September that I really, really wanted to read but didn’t finish until after month’s end: Missoula by Jon Krakauer and A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. I reviewed Missoula here. I really recommend it if you want to read a book that will make you mad? But why would you do that? What’s wrong with you?

I have some complicated feelings about Game of Thrones. For one thing, there are some really awesome female characters, but it all takes place in a really disgustingly patriarchal society where everything sucks all the time because of how patriarchal it is. This is really the first fantasy book I have read as an adult, so there is some stuff I just do not get. These people need democracy. Arya for President tbh. Anyway, I liked it enough to keep reading the series, despite how long the books are. I am watching the TV show as I go along which is helping me follow it a bit more.

I listened to Stiff: The Curious Life of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach on audio for Halloween non-fiction reading (is there such a thing?). I loved the audiobook reader’s narration style; it was perfectly dour with a hint of laughter. Creepy in a friendly way. Otherwise, it was a pretty interesting listen about the history and current culture of body donation and the uses of dead bodies, though I felt like my attention weaved in and out. I wonder if I would have gotten more out of it in print, although it’s possible I would never have gotten around to reading it in print. I kind of want to donate my body to science now, anyway.

I tried to read A Sport and a Pastime by James Salter but I didn’t get through it. It’s a short book, so I could have forced myself to finish it, but I really wasn’t feeling the first couple chapters. It seemed to be a book about pretentious people in Paris, which is fine, but…the exact opposite of what I want to be reading books about at the moment. I’ll try again some other time, because I heard some great things about this book.

Right now I am in the middle of Bird by Bird by Anne Lamont (re-reading as inspiration) and Revival by Stephen King.

That’s it for now. See you in December, and good luck to everyone participating in National Novel Writing Month.

P.S. HAPPY HALLOWEEN! I am going to be Katniss Everdeen!  🙂 Let me know if you are also dressing as a literary character.*

*pics or it didn’t happen

One thought on “September/October 2015 Round-Up

  1. I love George R R Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series, it is a very particular taste though. Love the “Arya for president”, she’s one of my favourite characters 😀

Leave a Reply

