I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid

27274343

I’m Thinking of Ending Things is a short-and-sweet (depending on how you define sweet) psychological thriller that doesn’t waste time. Iain Reid creates an atmosphere of pure creepiness from the very first page, and it’s amazing.

The narrator is an unnamed college girl who is taking a road trip with her new boyfriend, Jake. They haven’t been dating very long, and you get the sense that they don’t know each other very well. The girl has a certain darkness that she doesn’t let on very easy. They’re on a road trip to visit Jake’s parents, and the girl thinks about how it may be a bad idea, because she’s thinking about ending things with Jake. He’s good looking, smart, and talented, but there’s something off between them. She’s also going through a lot of stress; she’s getting creepy, harassing phone calls, and she doesn’t know who to tell. She’s on this trip with Jake as the story begins, and the refrain that keeps going through her head is that she needs to end things when they get back.

The story gets steadily creepier and creepier as her narration progresses. They meet Jake’s parents, who live on a rural, slightly decrepit farm, and there the story takes a horrific turn. The ending left me feeling unsettled and like I wanted to re-read the whole novel to see if I could have caught on to what was really going on sooner. But that’s not why I recommend I’m Thinking of Ending Things – I recommend it because Reid masterfully weaves a creeping sense of horror into every mundane sentence, giving the reader a sense of unease right from the start. It’s everything I wanted it to be – scary, quick, and fun (depending on how you define fun).

Thanks to Netgalley and Scout Press for letting me read an advance copy of this novel. I’m Thinking of Ending Things is out June 14th.


And now here’s a new thing where I tell you some things.

I’m currently readingWhere All Light Tends to Go by David Joy on my kindle and The World is Flat: A Brief History of the Twenty-First Century  by Thomas L. Friedman on audio.

The next book I’m going to review isThe Vegetarian by Han Kang

Leave a Reply

